In the state of New Jersey, employers with 100+ employees are required to provide 60 days’ notice to:
- Terminated employees and their representatives
- The Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development
- The chief elected official of the municipality where the business is located
Notice is required when:
- A mass layoff will occur: in New Jersey, a mass layoff is any reduction in workforce which is not the result of a transfer or termination of operations, in which 500 or more full-time employees are laid off or 50or more full-time employees, who comprise at least 1/3 of the full-time employees at the establishment, are laid off
- A plant closing will occur: in New Jersey, a plant closing is any transfer of operations or termination of operations during a 30 day period that results in the termination of 50+ full-time employees
Employers who violate the New Jersey statute may be liable for up to sixty days’ back pay and benefits.
Employers who do not provide 60 days’ notice to full-time employees in violation of this law are also required to provide severance pay equal to one week of pay for each full year of employment. This severance may be in addition to any severance pay otherwise provided by the employer.